Outside the Bar ‘Romeo’

Photo by Bright Tal

Photo by Bright Tal

Two weeks ago, I was standing outside a bar in Adams Morgan (18th street) on Saturday waiting for some friends. Its 2am in the morning and all I really want to do is go home. A few of my girlfriends are standing a few feet away from me when I am approached by a man.

Him: “I just want to tell you that you are the most beautiful girl I have seen all night”

I say “thanks” and start to walk away.

Him: “Don’t go, I want to talk to you” (As he grabs my hand)

At this point one of my girlfriends steps in and yells at him “Leave her alone. She doesn’t want to talk to you”.

Him: “Yes she does, she was enjoying talking to me.”

He then goes on a rant about all the “ice” and all the models he has.

Trying to help me, my friend tells him that I am here with my girlfriend and that I am defiantly not interested in him. This only adds fuel to the fire and he demands that I make out with my girlfriend to prove it. My friend yells at him again to leave me alone but he refuses to believe that I am actually not interested in him and continues to persist. Finally, we just leave and I think about how annoyed I am by the men of DC who continue to harass women in public spaces. Has this approach ever worked for a man and where does this behavior stem from?

Submitted by SL

One response to “Outside the Bar ‘Romeo’

  1. Golden Silence

    Ugh, these guys are nasty as hell. Late at night + drunken entitled idiots = fear for your safety. The fact that he refused to take “no” for an answer made it worse.

    You girls did the right thing. No matter how demanding they get, don’t succumb to their nonsense. Keep saying “no” and keep on moving. I would’ve called the police as well.

Leave a Reply

