The Thigh Grabber

Yesterday, we received a comment under “I wish I was More Assertive” and we think it deserves its very own post.

This type of harassment is occurring on our DC Metro trains and buses and it needs to stop.

Image by santita.putri

Image by santita.putri

The same thing happened to me.  I was on the metro, coming home from work, going in the direction of Glenmont. Mind you, it’s like 6:30pm and sunny outside.  This man sits next to me, and even though I looked busy, I was reading over a report from work with my red correction pen, this man decides to strike up a conversation.  I didn’t feel like talking because I wanted to use my metro time to do some work so I didn’t have to work at home. But I’m a nice person (minus the “don’t talk to me” look that permeated my forehead), so I answered his mindless questions (can’t remember what minutia he talked about).

This went on for about 5+ stops when I said “I’m just going to finish my work now.”

At that point, I looked down and saw HIS HAND ON MY THIGH.  I was mortified.  I didn’t know how to respond on this crowded train.  Turns out that we had approached my stop so I jumped up and rushed off the train, never defending myself.

I got really mad for not saying something, especially because all I wanted to do was yell, but it’s like I couldn’t speak. This horrible deed created a lump in my throat. MEN DO NOT HAVE ANY RIGHT TO TOUCH WOMEN THEY DON’T KNOW.  PERIOD!

If you have a story on street harassment and/or picture of the harasser, please email us at dchollaback@gmail.com (include the cross streets if you can remember).  We will automatically post them anonymously unless you tell us to use your name or initials.

Leave a Reply

