Summer Heat Equals an Increase in Harassment

I walk up and down 14th Street (the section known as Harassment Hill) often. I enjoy the walk and prefer it over taking the metro just one stop. However, this heat has really driven the harassers out of hibernation. The other night while walking home from Target I received numerous catcalls and when I get to 14th and Florida Ave, I see a hoard of men just standing on the street. There were at least 15. Immediately I felt uncomfortable. One of them yells, “hey mommasita” and I don’t even want to attempt to walk by, so I cross the street in order to avoid them.

Submitted by Anonymous

Have a story you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All stories will be posted anonymously unless you specify.

One response to “Summer Heat Equals an Increase in Harassment

  1. Golden Silence

    Fifteen guys just hanging out on the street catcalling — why is that allowed? Doesn’t anyone enforce “no loitering” laws anymore? This frustrates me!

Leave a Reply

