Meet Jason from Run A. Muck Graphics

A few weeks back, we wrote an email to our friends for leads on graphic designers who are easy to work with, get street harassment, and can work for free.  We were inundated with graphic designers, many of whom are kick ass people.  Flattered by the possibility of working with these folks, we developed a stringent process to pick our designer: who  responded the fastest with our request WON.*

Jason Muckle of Run A. Muck Graphics was a joy to work with, especially for such inexperienced folks like us.  Since you know we enjoy our share of giving props to small businesses and their owners who support our work, we decided to interview Jason for you all to get to know him and watch where he ends up.

Holla Back DC! (HBDC!): Jason, how did you get into graphic designing?

Jason Muckle (JM):  I got into graphic design kind of by accident.  I always liked art growing up, but not enough to really pursue it seriously.  However, when I was in college my roommate and I created a business together.  It was around 2002 and the trucker hat era was in full swing thanks to Ashton Kutcher.  My roommate and I would iron on pop culture icons onto trucker hats and sell them on campus and eBay.  I have to say it’s the most import thing I learned in college.  In the process of making these hats, I became familiar with Photoshop and that was pretty much the spark I needed.  After that I started making a lot of cover art for friends doing music and they encouraged me to pursue it further.

HBDC!: Nice. Describe yourself Twitter style.
JM: I am a reformed high school jock that has become an artsy music snob, with a hint of comic book nerd. I pride myself on being open minded and patient.

HBDC!: Many of us want to start our business. What is the best thing about your job and owning your own business?
JM: The best thing about my job is that I always get to be creative, and I get to use that creativity to help other people actualize their vision. I am in the unique position of being able to see the full growth process of an idea and take part in the process as well.

HBDC!: So, who are some of your role models?
JM: I don’t have role models. My main influences I would say would be N.E.R.D., Sponge Bob, Radiohead, and comic books from my childhood.

HBDC!: Why did you want to be part of the HBDC! family?
JM: Currently I work with children in Northern Virginia. Being around children really makes one aware of their actions and what you do. I refuse to be seen as something that might discredit the character I try to instill into the children I work with.

HBDC!: Have you seen street harassment?
JM: I have never seen street harassment myself. I hear stories from other people and it makes me wonder just what will someone stand for. To me, making an example of saying your not going to tolerate such behavior makes all the difference.

RunAMuck Graphics HBDC!: What tips do you have for men who see street harassment?
JM: Hmmm, I am not usually one to give advice. For me I believe that you are either part of the problem or part of the solution. I used to carry the book “Gandhi on Non violence” for like a whole year, and to this day I still remember him saying some along the lines of inaction in a time of conflagration is inexcusable, I still stand by that.

HBDC!: What projects do you have lined up for the summer?
JM: I am really excited about this summer! Currently I am working on re-vising my website, runamuckgraphics.com. It should be done in the next couple weeks. I am also working on launching a t-shirt line with a friend of mine. It will be a fairly limited thing to test the waters, but I think it will be really satisfying when I can see someone wearing my ideas. Lastly, I am also working on an online quarterly magazine. Each issue will have a theme based around the season it comes out. I wanted to create an outlet for other graphic designers and artist to show they’re work and establish themselves. If nothing else I will be staying busy!

HBDC!: Keep us posted on those projects. Where do you see yourself in five years?
JM: Like so many things in my life, I feel I was a late starter. Because I feel that way I am constantly trying to learn everything around me so I can catch up. The former jock in me was the same way with basketball in high school, I always feel like there is more to learn. In five years I want to create a successful t- shirt line, a local magazine, teach urban kids about design, make music, so many things. When its all said and done I want to be able to provide for my family, help others, and still be inspired by my work on a day to day basis.

HBDC!: Who should win this year’s NBA Championship?
JM: I believe this is Kobe’s year. I do believe that Lebron will have something to say about that, but it’s Kobe’s time.

HBDC!: Hmm, maybe we shouldn’t have asked that question. Ha! So, tell HBDC! readers what services does your company offer?
JM: My emphasis is in print design. I have also recently began creating websites for a few companies to broaden my services. However, I feel the strength of our services is creativity. I mean sure I can name a list of applications that I am able to use, but that’s not really the point of creativity. Clients want a unique perspective that will bring their job to life. The most exciting part to me is when I first talk with a client and hear what they want. The satisfaction I get when I start getting all different ideas for their vision is the best. I feel that we provide the service of taking a simple spark and form it into a full explosion of ideas, and choose which one fits the needs the best.

Contact Jason at Runamuckgraphics.com, 703.898.7098.

*Next time, we will do it American Idol style and have YOU chose what to do with the blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

