My worst DC experience

This was 3 years ago now but it is still one of the worst things that happened to me in DC (which, relative to what other people experience, is not so bad I know).
The train was full of seated people and only a few people were standing on the ends, around rush hour time. I was standing on the train at a pole. I was wearing a knee-length, pleated skirt, a little starchy and bouncy. A man was standing behind me against the wall(I guess too close, but at the time I didn’t think anything of it). I didn’t know anything was going on until a woman standing across from us, facing myself and the man looked up and yelled at him HEY WHAT ARE YOU DOING? I startled and looked and I caught a glimpse of his hand touching my skirt. she said to me he had been lifting up my skirt to look at my underwear. I turned and faced him completely red-faced, not knowing what to say. The doors opened at metro center and he fled off the train. No one else said anything. I didn’t know what to say. I wondered who if anyone else on the train had the free pleasure of my underwear and said nothing. It used to be my favorite skirt but I still hate wearing it now.

Location: Metro – Red line near metro center

Submitted by Amber

Do you have a story you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All stories will be posted anonymously unless you specify.

2 responses to “My worst DC experience

  1. Yeah, I’ve dealt with this too! Amber, don’t stop wearing your favorite skirt. You’ll let that moron continue to hassle you long after what he did to you!
    When I used to work in Silver Spring, I had my skirt yanked up to my waist!!!!The guy ran off, and I just stood there, shocked! I never had any problems after that, but I’ll never forget how bad that was. And yes, I still wear that skirt!

  2. One of the Vagina Monologues is “My Short Skirt,” which is a powerful piece that states it doesn’t matter what you’re wearing, that wearing a short skirt doesn’t make a woman easy or readily accessible for sexual harassment and violence.

    I agree with Sandy. Don’t let these fools discourage you from wearing your favorite clothes!

Leave a Reply

