“I like the way your pants cling to your butt!”

This happened earlier in the year but it got my blood boiling- I was walking to the Metro from my house in the late morning when a white van full of blue-collar type guys slowed down. The ring-leader yelled: “I like the way your pants cling to your butt!” while the other 4 or so men stared at me.

I gave them the sarcastic thumbs-up, though I wish I could’ve whipped out my cell phone Veronica Mars-style and captured their license plate and visages for YouTube and/or HollaBack DC.

Submitted by Anonymous on 12/16/2009

Location: Virginia: Shreve Rd and Rt. 7

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

One response to ““I like the way your pants cling to your butt!”

  1. aliciasanchezgill

    ugh, so sorry. that sounds awful, and so intimidating. a van full of men, middle of the day- so obviously in public, where other people could hear them talk to you like that. ugh. I see why you were so pissed. there’s so much power and intimidation behind that- which I guess is the point of street harassment. NO ONE could argue that they were just trying to give you “a friendly compliment”!

    but a clarifying question: what’s a “blue collar type” guy?

Leave a Reply

