The Whistler

I don’t know if anyone would truly consider this street harassment, but it was just something that stuck in my mind and I had to share because I felt offended. I had just gotten out of the Renwick and was heading down the street when I heard someone whistling like they were trying to get their dog’s attention(which was a feasible thought because it was a gorgeous day and a lot of people were out walking their dogs). I ignored it until I heard it again then I turned around. It turns out that it was some man who was sitting on the bleachers outside the gallery. He was apparently whistling at me like I was a dog to get my attention.

When I made eye contact(by mistake) he grinned like an idiot. I was pissed, but didn’t say anything and kept on walking. I wished I had said something like “I’m not a dog, but I can be a bitch if you do that again”

Submitted by mm on 4/10/2010

Location: 1661 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.


Share/Bookmark//

3 responses to “The Whistler

  1. I consider it harassment. And it certainly sounds like it felt like harassment to you. Which is what matters.

  2. definitely rude. also stupid.

    anything that objectifies or demeans you matters. treating you, quite literally, the way he’d treat a dog is demeaning.

    you’re utterly within your rights to be mad as hell.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Round Up April 18, 2010 « Stop Street Harassment!

Leave a Reply

