“Hey baby, what’s your name?”

I just left the court after serving my obligatory once-every-two-years DC jury duty. As I turned in my badge and started to leave, a man who was walking into one of the courtrooms nearby said, “Hey baby, what’s your name?” without really pausing for my reaction or answer. I rolled my eyes to myself and went down the escalator. As I stepped outside, another man started eyeing me up and down and said, “Why aren’t you smiling? What’s wrong?”

Sometimes these comments feel like a drive-by, like I’m just getting pelted with comments as I go about my daily life, nay, my civic duty. It’s even more worse when people DEMAND I act or look a certain way (like smiling for no reason), just to please them.

Submitted by Anonymous on 5/13/2010

Location: 500 Indiana Ave NW

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify

Share/Bookmark

2 responses to ““Hey baby, what’s your name?”

  1. Golden Silence

    As I turned in my badge and started to leave, a man who was walking into one of the courtrooms nearby said, “Hey baby, what’s your name?” without really pausing for my reaction or answer.

    I feel that these men are conditioned to talk to any woman that walks by, and they don’t care about how we respond because we’re nothing but objects. Years back, some teenager walked past me on U Street, asking “Baby, can I walk wit’ you?”, but he kept on in the opposite direction, didn’t stop for me to respond with a “NO!” or anything. I was dumbfounded. It’s like a trigger reaction to any woman they see with these men.

  2. “Why aren’t you smiling? What’s wrong?”

    Nothing’s wrong, I’m just not a bottle-nosed dolphin is all.

Leave a Reply

