No Way To Avoid It

Walking to the bus stop from my apartment complex, I have to pass a construction site where the future Siena Park apartment will be built. On June 1st, 2010 at 1:10pm, several construction workers whistled and catcalled as I walked by. I have to walk this way to get to the bus and there is no way to avoid it unless I go out of my way to a different bus stop. I tried contacting the Columbia Pike Revitalization Movement to request the name of the construction company hired to work on the building, but have yet to hear back.

Submitted by Anonymous on 6/1/2010

Location: Columbia Pike & Barton St. (Arlington)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

4 responses to “No Way To Avoid It

  1. Golden Silence

    I called Siena Apts. (703) 778-4330 and was told by a (very rushed-sounding) receptionist that Paradigm is the name of the construction company, and that Bozzuto Management is who you should contact. Other than that I got nothing.

    Best of luck to you in reporting these clowns!

  2. Update: I heard back rom the Columbia Pike Revitalization Organization and they directed me to someone else who works with the construction project. I e-mailed him and am now waiting to hear back. All I really want is for the foreman to talk with the guys and tell them to stop it. Do they even know that they’re making women uncomfortable? Do they know and not care? I can’t even wrap my head around how total strangers could be so disrespectful.

  3. also you should contact the city – they need licenses and such to operate. i’ve had fabulous experiences calling 311 here in DC, i’m sure the good government of arlington would be happy to help! and, inevitably, women answer at these generic numbers and at least have a sympathetic ear.

  4. I live nearby and these construction workers ALWAYS shout and whistle at me. This has been happening since last summer, at least. Hope you get through to the company!!

Leave a Reply

