“You keep it up!”

Photo by thisisbossi via flickr

Today I went to the post office just outside the College Park metro stop (4815 Calvert). I had the following lovely experience at around 11:15: I just went across the street to mail some letters. I had to cross in front of these guys mowing the lawn at the post office. The guys (there were 3) called to each other to check me out as I went by. I kept walking into the post office. When I left I looked for a company name out the window of the post office… saw that it looked like the guys were gone. So I walked out. But no. A guy who had been on phone was still there. As I cross the street to go under the metro he comes right up to me, puts his phone down, puts up his hand (to slap me 5) and says “You keep it up!” I was like… “what?” He says “you look damn fine, keep up the good work!” I said “that’s really rude.” He said somewhat sarcastically “Oh I am sorry, I didn’t realize it was rude…it’s just that you are not shaped like normal white bitches”. And as I walk away he says “but apparently you are a bitch.”

I am seething. and it does me no good. I have never in my life experienced the harassment I have everywhere the last 5 or so months. I walk with my head and eyes down just to avoid people and that doesn’t even stop it. And its sad because even when people who are honestly trying to be friendly say hi, I cringe. That is totally sad.

Submitted by Anonymous on 6/3/2010

Location: College Park metro stop (4815 Calvert)

Time of Harassment: Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

2 responses to ““You keep it up!”

  1. Golden Silence

    The harassment stories have increased since the weather’s gotten better! I love beautiful weather but I hate harassment with a passion.

    He said somewhat sarcastically “Oh I am sorry, I didn’t realize it was rude…it’s just that you are not shaped like normal white bitches”. And as I walk away he says “but apparently you are a bitch.”

    I want to know where in his scrawny peabrain did he think this was okay to say. Did he expect you to be flattered? I am disgusted and sorry this happened to you. I hope you got their company’s name. Hmm, do you think that particular post office knows the name of that company?

  2. Sick and Tired of the BS

    You know what…I am completly with you when you discuss that the past couple of months have been harder for you in terms of harassment. I have experienced the same thing. I stopped going out because of it. I also have attained a level of animosity towards makes. I walk around with pepper spray in my hand on a key chain because of it. I am 26 years old and I have been harassed more in the past year than in all my years combined. There has to be a new code of disrespect against woman for males in this area. Something just isn’t adding up and isn’t sitting right . They are just too bold now… Must be a social trend.

Leave a Reply

