A Refreshing Sentiment

Photo by joefl va Flickr

I’ve been spoken to so horribly by so many men in DC that I thought I’d share something really nice that happened. I was walking to the metro and was waiting to cross the street. A construction worker was standing a few feet away. Suddenly, he turned to me and said, “I just wanted to say something to you this morning.” I expected the usual harassment, but he continued, “God bless you, and God love you.” I smiled and wished him the same. It was so refreshing for a man I’ve never met to treat me like a human being. It made my morning!

Anyway, I just thought I’d share a positive story. My own experiences with street harassment have left me so jaded, and reading everyone’s stories on this site can be frustrating because so often women are left speechless and ashamed. There are good men out there who treat women like ladies, and I hope they serve as an example to the men and boys they know!

Submitted by  S.K. 6/11/2010

Location: 5th & New York NW

Time Of Harassment: Morning Rush Hour (5A-9:30A)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

2 responses to “A Refreshing Sentiment

  1. Thank you for your post.🙂 And God bless that gentleman wherever he may be right now. I hope most of our interactions with our neighbors in this city will be friendly and positive like this, rather than angry and abusive.

  2. that would be a great thing to hear, unless of course you’re an atheist and you’re sick and tired of people making assumptions about your beliefs.

Leave a Reply

