“Hey Baby Girl”

Wanna do something to address public sexual harassment in DC?  Join ourFounder’s Circle by helping us bring Right Rides to DC by donatingto us here.  Every donation is tax deductible and brings us one step closer to being a city free from street harassment.

I was walking home from a neighborhood public safety meeting (unfortunate irony) and got followed a few blocks by two guys who were smoking and drinking. They were making remarks like, “Hey baby girl, what are you doing tonight?”, and when I didn’t respond they called me a bitch and asked why I was so mean. When I got to the corner and waited to cross the street, they laughed and said, “I see you, girl, peddlin’ on that street corner.” They walked away laughing and staring at me.
Aside from the expected angry, frightened, disgusted emotional reaction, I also felt like I had no voice. There were few other people around and I was worried that if I responded, they would follow me home.

Submitted by Anonymous on 6/16/2010

Location: K and 6th St NE

Time of Harassment: Night (7:30P-12A)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

One response to ““Hey Baby Girl”

  1. I’m sorry that happened to you. I can completely relate to the feeling of having no voice while being harassed.

Leave a Reply

