“Hey Sexy!”

Photo by agrttman via Flickr

A little while ago (I was 13), I was heading home after walking with some friends to a rehearsal they had. I was walking along a pretty busy street, on which several of my friends have also been harassed. All of a sudden, a black car filled with teenage boys drove by and one yelled out the window, “Hey Sexy! What’s up?” They then drove away and didn’t come back. At first I was confused, and then once I realized what had happened I got really upset. I felt violated, and ever since then I’ve felt nervous whenever I have to walk down that street alone.

Submitted by L-K-L on 6/18/2010

Location: Wayne Ave., Silver Spring, MD

Time of Harassment: Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specif

Leave a Reply

