“Please! You’re like, TWELVE.”

Trying to put this together in my head: walking the dog down Wisconsin Ave. Pass by 3 boys that look about 11 or 12. After I pass I hear “hey nice ass” and some muttering about my dog. I turn around and say “Really? THAT’S what you say to a woman walking by you? Please! You’re like, TWELVE.” No one will look at me. They’re all looking at the ground and they slowly separate. I have this desire to emotionally scar them for life but choose not to.

Submitted by Anonymous on 6/22/2010

Location: Wisconsin Ave

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

5 responses to ““Please! You’re like, TWELVE.”

  1. I love your response!

    • Thank you! Of course, I spent the rest of the week wishing I had gone a little further, but it’s probably for the best that I didn’t.

      Sigh. Twelve.

  2. Golden Silence

    It makes me mad that they’re learning this nonsense that young!

  3. Twelve year old children can be sketchy and it’s horrifying when you start to realize how young they learn this behavior. I had a gross run-in with a 12 year old boy in one of those giant school groups being shepherded along M Street in Georgetown. The kid stuck his arms out just before he passed me so that I had to step aside to keep him from brushing my breasts. Obnoxious, but what I will not forget is the privileged male gaze from a TWELVE YEAR OLD that managed to creep me out. I wanted to call him out on his behavior or cuff him upside the head, but worried about the response of his school chaperons.

  4. Golden Silence

    I wanted to call him out on his behavior or cuff him upside the head, but worried about the response of his school chaperons.

    That would’ve been the perfect moment. Had you called him out the chaperones would’ve noticed and reprimanded him. He needed to be embarrassed in front of them and his peers. They learn it young, so they need to learn not to do it while young as well.

Leave a Reply

