Other Women

One of the most upsetting experiences I’ve had with street harassment was actually committed by other women. They were waiting at the bus stop on U St near the McD’s pickup window. There were about 3 of them taking part. I was with a male friend and we were looking for a bar (we forgot the address) and we had walked past the bus stop maybe a couple times. The first time I heard them talking I couldn’t make out what they said, I figured they were talking about someone else. The second time we walked past, I knew they were talking about me, but still couldn’t make out exact words. The last time, though, there was no mistake–they were making specific comments (loudly) about what I was wearing, my body, my skin color, and assuming I thought I was better than everyone else. I really don’t get this. People assume because your hair is a certain color, you have certain genetic traits determining what body-type you have and the color of your skin, that you have some superiority complex. Maybe they mistake my shyness for snobbery. In any case, this incident was very upsetting to me and it took me a while to get over it. It made me very sad to realize that some women can be so mean to one another, when we should be working together, or at the very least, not being so judgmental of each other.

Submitted by mt on 7/2/2010

Location: 14th and U NW

Time of Harassment: Night (7:30P-12A)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

3 responses to “Other Women

  1. As another shy woman, I know exactly how you feel. I don’t say “Hi” to everyone I see, I tend to ignore other people on the street, mostly out of a desire to not step on anyone’s toes. A lot of people mistake that for me being a snob, or racist, or sexist, or classist or whatever, but I assure you its not. Don’t take what they said to heart, you didn’t do anything wrong. I do agree though, women should stick together, not make the problem worse!

  2. Golden Silence

    The last time, though, there was no mistake–they were making specific comments (loudly) about what I was wearing, my body, my skin color, and assuming I thought I was better than everyone else. I really don’t get this. People assume because your hair is a certain color, you have certain genetic traits determining what body-type you have and the color of your skin, that you have some superiority complex. Maybe they mistake my shyness for snobbery. In any case, this incident was very upsetting to me and it took me a while to get over it. It made me very sad to realize that some women can be so mean to one another, when we should be working together, or at the very least, not being so judgmental of each other.

    I can totally relate, especially with the “you think you’re better than us!” commentary. It reminds me of grade school—because I had light skin and did decently in school I got made fun of and told “I thought I was better” than other Blacks. And yes, that nonsense still goes on as an adult—I can be walking down the street and women make snide comments about me for no reason.

    Don’t listen to their hateful words. Women like that are extremely insecure about themselves so putting a complete stranger down is their way of making themselves feel better. Those women are bitter and angry and have nothing going on with themselves. Instead of them putting others down to feel high and mighty, they need to work on bettering themselves.

    mt, stay strong. Don’t let a bunch of catty heffahs get you down.

  3. I totally agree, it’s such a shame that we women put one another down so much. It’s scary that even women get sucked into the system of blaming and shaming.

    I’m with you, though!🙂

Leave a Reply

