“Think About How Your Mother Would Feel”

Photo by clevercupcakes via Flickr

I was walking my dog up 7th Street NW. Two teenage boys were sitting on the front porch of a house, listening to music from a laptop. I didn’t look at them, I just kept walking, but I could feel them eyeing me anyway.

When I was about 100 feet past the house, I heard one of them call “I like yer boobs!” in a muted but purposeful voice.

I know the best thing to do is to just let things like this go, but I guess I was in the mood for a confrontation. I turned my dog around and we walked the 100 feet back toward the house.

“Hi. Is your mother at home?”
“Uh….no.”
“What’s your name?”
“Logan.”
“Logan what?”
“Logan….uh….Jones.”
“Hello, Logan Jones. Do you live in this house?”
“No.”
“Where do you live?”
“Over on Van Buren Street.”
“Is your mother there?”
“Uh….yeah.”
“Does she know that you’re out here harassing women on the street?”
“……”
“Well?”
“Uh, I didn’t know I was harassing you. Sorry about that.”
“Yeah, well, it’s not cool. Next time you think about doing something like that, think about how your mother would feel.”

Then I kept walking. His friend called out: “He’s mentally challenged!” I said, “Yeah, I’m sure.”

I didn’t have my cell phone on me, unfortunately. If I had, I would have snapped a picture of the little dorks e43and posted it online..”

Then I kept walking. His friend called out: “He’s mentally challenged!” I said, “Yeah, I’m sure.”

I didn’t have my cell phone on me, unfortunately. If I had, I would have snapped a picture of the little dorks and posted it online.

Submitted by RM on 7/10/2010

Location: 6400 block of 7th St. NW (bet. Tuckerman and Tewkesbury

Time of Harassment: Evening Rush Hour (3:30P-7:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

3 responses to ““Think About How Your Mother Would Feel”

  1. well handled!
    he may not learn the lesson right away, maybe it will take years, but i bet he’ll remember that forever.

  2. BEST. RESPONSE. EVER.

    I totally recommend this cool, calm, and collected approach! Kudos to the original poster!

  3. Loving your response – well done!

Leave a Reply

