Flasher in Meridian Hill Park

I was crossing through Meridian Hill Park on my way to work this morning at 8:30. In the morning, there are joggers and people with strollers, and I do not feel unsafe. When I turned a corner and started to walk down some steps, a man exposed himself to me. I yelled, ” What the fuck, asshole?!” and ran out of the park. It was very scary and I am now really upset, sitting at work, unable to work.

Submitted by anonymous on 1/25/2011

Location: Meridian Hill Park

Time of Harassment: Morning Rush Hour (5A-9:30A)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

2 responses to “Flasher in Meridian Hill Park

  1. I’m so sorry this happened to you. I’ve experienced it many times in DC, once in the same park, actually, and it’s incredibly jarring and unsettling, not to mention how disgusting it leaves you feeling.

    Did you call the police? For future reference, DC police take indecent exposure seriously, and they will respond.

    One last thing: Whenever I respond to a post on this site, I encourage all girls in DC to carry pepper spray with them. It is legal and will run you about $10. I know they sell it at a store called “Mila” at 14th and U, but you should be able to find it elsewhere, maybe even at a place like Target. If you are ever running by yourself, especially in that park (no matter how safe it appears), I recommend you carry it with you, in your hand, trigger ready, just to be safe. Someone can assault you in a mere instant and then be gone, the very same way this man visually assaulted you today.

    If it ever happens to me again, I intend to spray their penis!

  2. I live next to the park. I love visiting but it’s easy to get isolated in those little stair areas.

    Serious downsides to pepper spray: It is illegal in DC unless you register it with the police, and many people get sick from it (bystanders with athsma), and a turn of the wind can mean incapacitating yourself. I recommend a yawara stick, which can be had for five bucks on ebay. Small, easy to use, causes pain that will shock a guy so you can run.

Leave a Reply

