Harassed on my Run

Photo by timtak via flickr

Yesterday afternoon I was going for a run in a my neighborhood.  I noticed a guy who kept circling back on his bike to leer at me. Then he stopped and just sat there and stared as a ran down the street.  I wasn’t about to stop in the middle of my run to say anything so I just kept going.  He went on his way and left me alone for the rest of my run.

Submitted by anonymous on 2/3/2011

Location: Mt. Pleasant

Time of harassment: Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

One response to “Harassed on my Run

  1. Something similar happened to me after I moved to Petworth: I decided to go for a jog and halfway through ended up with a couple of guys in a car slowing down, rolling down their windows and smiling at me (not in a friendly way). When I told them to move on, there’s nothing for them to be looking at, they shook their heads “no,” keeping this creepy smiles on and stayed. I hightailed it back home and ended up with some other guy coming up to my house saying he saw me on my run and wanted to bring me flowers. I was so freaked out from that experience that this became the one and ONLY time I’ve ever gone running in my neighborhood – which is sad.

Leave a Reply

