“I don’t even understand what this was.”

I don’t even understand what this was. A metro bus driver walked alongside me for awhile. Then he started talking, ostensibly to me, but I couldn’t understand what he was saying. So, I say: “What?” He responds, “You knew I had to stop and talk to you. You knew I was going to talk to you. You knew I needed to tell you that you’re beautiful.” Me: “…” Him: “Know it! Know it girl!” And I walked away quickly. It was more just an awkward, public, weird encounter than straight-up sexual harassment, but it was still really strange and left me freaked-out for the rest of the day.

Submitted by h

Location: Western Ave NC & Wisconsin Ave NW

Time of harassment: Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

One response to ““I don’t even understand what this was.”

  1. what is wrong with some people? It’s as if they don’t even know how to behave around women.

Leave a Reply

