Metro Employees that “Holla”

I have a general experience that I would like to share. It is in regards to metro employees. I would like to know why many metro employees are highly unprofessional.

My experience has been that maybe metro male employees will not hesitate to harass, follow, and try to ‘holla’ at female passengers. Why is this okay and what kind of screening does metro do to select their employees? I had a particularly bad experience with one metro employee in particular. This guy basically got upset and screamed at me in front of other metro customers because I wouldn’t give him the type of attention that he wanted. He stated something about how ‘I will be treated how my attitude is’. Can you imagine?

I wrote in a complaint only for metro to tell me that I waited to long to submit my complaint. I think that was just an excuse for them to not have to deal with his behavior because I gave them all the information that they would have needed to identify hi m. It’s wrong because metro riders use their money to ride the train and the last thing needed is insecure male employees using metro as their ‘hunting ground’ to harass women. What kind of foolishness is this? And the sad thing is that metro isn’t even embarassed by the unprofessional people they have working for them! This is just a prime example of how males constantly get away with bad behavior.

Submitted by anonymous

Location: Metro

Time of harassment: Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

5 responses to “Metro Employees that “Holla”

  1. “You waited too long?” Love the victim-blaming. You aren’t following our procedures, so therefore we have no obligation to be accountable to you whatsoever.

  2. I dont get it. They are so unprofessional and almost predatory. Sorry you had to go through that.

  3. Golden Silence

    Why is this okay and what kind of screening does metro do to select their employees?

    I honestly think there’s no proper form of screening for their employees. And do they have a sexual harassment policy enforced? Doubt it.

    I wrote in a complaint only for metro to tell me that I waited to long to submit my complaint. I think that was just an excuse for them to not have to deal with his behavior because I gave them all the information that they would have needed to identify him.

    It is a lame excuse. The same thing happened to me years ago. A Metro employee harassed me, I submitted an online complaint with time, date, location, and name of the harassing Metro employee from his name tag (it was a first initial and a common last name, but I thought the other details would’ve helped to narrow him down). I got a cold reply from Metro saying I didn’t give them enough information to pursue my complaint.

    Metro needs to take these harassment complaints seriously and stop sweeping things under the rug.

  4. @afrostyling and nellie, Hey, I posted the blog entry and thanks for your support. I unfortuantely have many more stories relating to metro (including metro male passengers) that have basically kept me from taking the train for about a year. It’s sad because the events that took place didn’t occur every single time I was on the train, but when they did happen it was enough to make me paranoid. I think that there is a percentage of teenagers and adult males who come on metro strictly to harass women. You will find them loitering through the premises, and not really trying to go anywhere in particular. Honestly one of the main reasons I haven’t been to dilligent in looking for work os because of this metro transportation thing. I am emberassed but I have to admit that because I don’t currenltly have a car and metro would be why only way to get around, I just don’t put in much effort into findind a job. I have had guys touch me innaproriately (complete strangers), follow me to the point I was scared, and attempt to get in my personal space. They just wouldn’t leave me the hell alone! It has been so frustrating at times because all I was trying to do was get from point A to point B.

  5. That is really scary! I have never been harassed on the metro because I’ve never taken it by myself, usually with parents or friends, but I know it’s bound to happen one of these days.

Leave a Reply

