“I’m getting really fed up!”

Photo by Horia Varlan via flickr

Today I was walking home from my class in Downtown Silver Spring around 2 in the afternoon. As I was crossing Spring Street, walking down 2nd Avenue, a man in a car stopped at the intersection leaned out his car window and said “You look nice today”.

This is definitely not the worst comment I’ve ever received. But I did not ask for this man’s opinion on how I look. It’s none of his business and it’s not his job to make comments to girls on the street about how they look.

I’m getting really fed up.


Submitted by Bridgette

Location: 2nd Avenue and Spring Street

Time of harassment:
Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

7 responses to ““I’m getting really fed up!”

  1. The problem with guys today is that they don’t know how to talk to women. A simple hello and and smile should do the trick.

  2. Its my opinion that guys wouldn’t say or do things unless they’ve received positive results in the past. Women can help or they can hinder — I could care less about what some random man thinks about me or my looks.

  3. Ok, time for me to comment. I just stumbled upon this blog and I have to say a lot of these entries don’t sound like street harressment. So the guy said, “you look nice” today and moved on with his business. How is this harrassing you? I think this blog is made up of lots of fragile white women feminists from the burbs who are offended by urban men of color speaking to them when decades ago they would have be lynched for such behavior. Certainly, men following you, making repeated comments, calling you out of your name is harrassment, but I guy simply saying, “hello, you look nice” is not harrassment. I think you need to look inward and figure out what’s wrong with yourself.

    • Golden Silence

      You’re stereotyping. “Fragile white women feminists”? One, not everyone who shares their stories or comments here is white (I’m not), and the last thing many of us are is “fragile.”

  4. I bet most are, but besides you are missing my point.

  5. I’m confused as to how this is even remotely close to harassment. A guy gave you a polite compliment, and you’re complaining about it. People aren’t nice enough to each other in this world, which is a major part of what this site seems to be about, and in an instance when a complete stranger goes out of his way to be polite and nice to you, you talk about it like he’s violating your rights or something.

  6. You’ve obviously never really been harassed if you confuse the most non-sexual, non gender specific compliment ever with harassment. You must be pretty sheltered (and indignant)

Leave a Reply

