From DC to Dewey Beach

I’m from DC but went to Dewey beach with some friends. As we were walking to dinner, a guy walking the opposite direction came up to me, snarled really loudly and put his hands in front of my chest and made the motion like he was going to grab it. After I yelped in fear, I recovered and said, “Hey, that’s not funny, a–h–.” He told me to get a sense of humor and not be so uptight. I felt very violated.

Submitted by anonymous on 8/12/11

Location: Dewey Beach, DE

Time of harassment: Evening Rush Hour (3:30P-7:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

3 responses to “From DC to Dewey Beach

  1. Just wow! If someone did that to his mama, sister or girlfriend I wonder if he would side with the guy. I fail to understand why some men find this behavior acceptable.

  2. That’s why I’ve always called it “Douchey Beach.” I’m sorry you had to deal with that BS!

  3. “How would you feel if someone did that to your little sister?”

Leave a Reply

