Afraid to Walk My Dog

Image by dearbarbie via Flickr

I just learned about Holla Back and Holla Back DC today. I didn’t even realize it but I have felt extremely alone in my experiences being catcalled and harrassed in DC. Reading these stories and knowing that there is a community of women who feel the way I do has nearly brought me to tears.

I recently adopted a dog from a local shelter. Oftentimes, I like to change clothes before taking my dog to the park after work. I like to wear my yoga pants or leggings and a tee shirt because it’s comfortable and functional for playing with the dog. But everytime I do the men and boys at the soccer / football field adjacent to the dog park catcall me to the point of embarrassment. Lately, I have been more careful about what clothes I choose to wear. I wear baggy sweat pants and big hoodies to conceal my body.

It makes me want to scream that these men have driven me to stress about what I wear TO WALK MY DOG! I want to scream at them to leave my in peace but can never bring myself to do it.

Thank you for giving me a place to scream and for showing me that I’m not alone.

Submitted by Jess

Location: 11th and R, NW

Time of harassment: Evening Rush Hour (3:30P-7:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

2 responses to “Afraid to Walk My Dog

  1. You’re not alone! Speak up for yourself, help shine a light on this issue, and most importantly – stay safe. You have a right to be in society unbothered by these creeps.

  2. keep the faith no one should EVER be afraid

Leave a Reply

