“I’m a person!”

Image by anamobe via Flickr

I just moved to this area and was pleasantly surprised I had yet to be harassed (just moved from Petworth, where I was harassed on a daily basis). Well, today made up for lost times, because I got harassed THREE times in front of Safeway. One man said “hey pretty lady,” a group of men said “I like that pretty smile,” and a third man said “pretty little dress.” At least the harassment wasn’t vulgar, but it was still not appreciated. I told the group “I’m a person!” to try to invoke empathy but it probably wasn’t effective. I told Safeway’s customer service and the employee seemed only mildly concerned.

Submitted by Anonymous

Location: In front of Safeway

Time of harassment: Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

2 responses to ““I’m a person!”

  1. Which Safeway is this, if you don’t mind me asking?

    “I told Safeway’s customer service and the employee seemed only mildly concerned.”

    Go higher than store level, like corporate. They tend to listen a lot more than the store personnel.

  2. Um..saying that you have a nice smile or telling you you have a pretty dress is not sexual harassment. So a male can’t tell you they like your dress, or say that you have a nice smile? Sorry, that is way overly sensitive if you ask me. If he said it like heyyy baby… nice smile… mmmn mmnn.. then I would understand. But pretty little dress? You need to chill imho. I am female and would have politely thanked him and been on my way.

Leave a Reply

