An Open Letter….

An open letter to those dozen people walking by 18th and california nw sunday at 3:10pm,

Go to hell.

A woman yells “I need a cop, I need a cop” and you do nothing. You don’t even approach to see if my wife and i are being physically threatened by that man. He was following us, hissing in vulgar terms about us going to hell and that men eat pussy better. We were afraid and you did nothing. I even tried to protect your son from him, I told the man there was a child across the street and to watch his language.

I hope we didn’t disturb your lovely afternoon.

Make no mistake, there is a campaign of terror, of threats of violence against women and lgbt citizens, across this city. I shouldn’t be afraid to leave my neighborhood, but I am. You saw something and said nothing, and it hurt me more than that vile man. you’ve reminded me that, despite your undoubted liberal leanings and token gay friends, my family and I are alone on these streets and we shouldn’t count on you to stick your neck out.

Once we have kids of our own, we’ll have to teach them that you people are easily scared. A kid need an adult but you might not help. We’ll tell them to scream for help anyway because it can scare the bad guy off. Our kids will grow up tough but alive and prepared for just how selfish and scared you really are of how hard our lives are. You may find it unpleasant to believe these things happen in our “one city”, but it goes and you should care.

So, again, on behalf of myself, my wife and our future children, go to hell.

And the next time I see you getting hassled, I’ll still come over and even call a cop. I couldn’t live with myself otherwise.

Submitted by Cathy

Location: 18th and California, NW

Time of harassment:  Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

One response to “An Open Letter….

  1. Cathy,
    I’m sorry that nobody stepped forward to help. I have no problem interjecting myself into situations where someone is being done wrong, whether to provide safety in numbers or just because it’s what I would want someone to do for me.
    There is definitely a herd mentality in crowds.

Leave a Reply

