“Smile for me!”

I was walking to the metro, on my way to my job as a nanny, having an absolutely terrible day when I passed a group of guys who hang out on the block. One of them said “Good afternoon.” I ignored him, cranky and wrapped up in my head. He and some of his friends kept going. “Good afternoon! Hey! Good afternoon! Hey, baby girl, smile for me?” I completely snapped and yelled back “Fuck you! It’s a shitty day! I don’t have to smile. You don’t have the right to tell me what to do!” They started laughing and made fun of me until I was around the corner. I’m worried now that in the future if they recognize me the harassment will escalate.

Submitted by Izzi

Location: 7th and M Sts. NW

Time of harassment:  Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

Leave a Reply

