Even In Front of My Children

I was taking my children to lunch when an older man on a mobility scooter (yeah) rode along side us, remarking about my looks.

I told him how inappropriate it was for him to say those things, particularly in front of my children and luckily, he got the point and rolled away.

My 8 year old son asked me if he said those things because he didn’t know I was married. I told him it didn’t matter, as it was disrespectful and rude (and inappropriate). My son then said, “I don’t understand. Even if you weren’t married, why would you want to marry him?”

EXACTLY

Submitted by SPM

Location: 8th and Pennsylvania Ave, SE

Time of harassment: Day Time (9:30A-3:30P)

Do you have a personal experience with gender-based public sexual harassment or assault you would like to submit? Just click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

3 responses to “Even In Front of My Children

  1. ““I don’t understand. Even if you weren’t married, why would you want to marry him?”

    EXACTLY”

    In my opinion this comment negates what you wanted your child. You should not be objectified because of your looks and the guy in the scooter should not be deemed less of a human being because he is in a scooter.

  2. @A – my interpretation was, why would she want a marry a man who is rude and disrespectful to women, not that she looked down on him for being in a scooter. He’s not less of a human, but that doesn’t excuse his behavior.

  3. your son will make an excellent husband someday! he immediately understood that you wouldn’t want to marry someone who bothers strangers on the street. you’re obviously doing a great job as a parent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

